dhpos and linux

Make comments, ask questions, or just complain about the software on this site. Or comment on any educational software.
Please note that by clicking on links that may appear in these posts that you may be leaving the Dale Harris Educational Software website and that the content of those sites is the sole resposibility of the authors of those sites.

Moderators:daleadmin, Dale Harris, Alan, Andrew

jodrre
Posts:4
Joined:Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:45 pm

Post by jodrre » Tue Jan 08, 2008 9:32 pm

if you don't want to run wine, there's a package in Ubuntu (Gutsy Gibbon) called dosemu

it pretty much emulates DOS exactly... much easier than wine.

use the cd command to change to the place you stored Cash Register

marine64
Forum Regular
Posts:36
Joined:Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:07 pm
Location:Mountain home AFB, ID
Contact:

dosemu

Post by marine64 » Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:18 pm

yes dosemu does run it but if you want to use the networking feature it tends to be flaky at times. I have seen where the whole software has been corrupted because the software errors outs.
http://www.xenocomp.com for all your tech needs.

jodrre
Posts:4
Joined:Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:45 pm

Post by jodrre » Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:29 pm

hmmm...

haven't had the chance to network Cafe Bordeaux and The Perk Stop yet...

guess I would have had prollems

marine64
Forum Regular
Posts:36
Joined:Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:07 pm
Location:Mountain home AFB, ID
Contact:

dosemu

Post by marine64 » Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:04 am

They seemed to fix the bug in the networking with the new version (1.4.0) give it a try. other than that bug i havnt had issues with dosemu. I would however recomend using a cron job to backup the pos dir every 2-5 min or so. if you arent a cli person i recomend using webmin. For cron help email me at brian@xenocomp.com with the subject cron and i will respond quicker.


brian
http://www.xenocomp.com for all your tech needs.

marine64
Forum Regular
Posts:36
Joined:Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:07 pm
Location:Mountain home AFB, ID
Contact:

lets make this easier

Post by marine64 » Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:07 am

I will be writting a script to install the pos and the needed files as soon as i can. This will help others out by allowing an easier install on linux. I will post the script as soon as i can.
http://www.xenocomp.com for all your tech needs.

marine64
Forum Regular
Posts:36
Joined:Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:07 pm
Location:Mountain home AFB, ID
Contact:

Re: dhpos and linux

Post by marine64 » Mon May 26, 2008 12:06 am

Here is what you need to do to get dhpos running under Debian Linux

Install Debian using what ever medium you choose. I recomend using the net installer and i will outline this process below.

Download the Network installer from this page http://www.us.debian.org/distrib/netinst and get the small CD. If you are using a standard PC you want the I386 small cd. Download it and burn it to a cd using your buring program of choice. *****NOTE: dont just burn the file you have to burn it as an iso. If you do not know how to do this i recomend downloading Deepburner. It is simple and free. it can be found at http://www.deepburner.com/?r=download you want the one that says free and does not say portable. ***** Then burn it to a cd and follow the prompts on the screen. *****WARNING: the cd will remove all data from the Hard Drive and install its own partitions. **** If this is what you want please ignore this warning. If not please contact me or a linux users group in your area and they (or me) can walk you thru this for your case. Once the base system is installed you will be asked to remove the CD from the drive and reboot. Once it reboots you will be asked if you want to use a network mirror Choose Yes. Then follow the prompts and choose a mirror. There are tons if you see one close to you please use it for speed. Then you will be asked to select what software you want to install press the down arrow until it is in the gnome box and hit space and then press enter to continue. at this point it will install the selected software. now Press Control Alt F1 to get to the terminal once complete login as root and type this command

Code: Select all

apt-get install dosbox
it will installa dos emulator. **Side note: due to resent coding changes to wine it cannot run dhpos*** once this is complete hit Control Alt F7 and login as a normal user. Download Dhpos using the web browser and double click on it and extract. Now place it in the dosbox folder. start dosbox and type pos and you are done. I will be posting a linux Shell script as soon as i can to automate this process. Please check back in a few days and it should be done. In the mean time check out http://techwhip.com for other articles and feel free to post your articles on there as well.
http://www.xenocomp.com for all your tech needs.

nnagreg
Posts:3
Joined:Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:52 pm

Re: dhpos and linux

Post by nnagreg » Thu May 29, 2008 7:18 pm

I had some difficulties with locating the DOSBOX directory getting POS installed on the dosbox machine... So here is what I did...


Extracted the POS.ZIP files on the desktop into a directory called POS
Then moved the POS directory to USERNAME Home folder, in my case "greg's Home"
Clicked on Applications icon on the upper left corner, selected Accessories then TERMINAL...
A terminal window opens...At the terminal... I typed dosbox
A Windows will open, looks just like DOS.

Now you need to mount the POS directory by typing 'mount c ~/POS' (leaving off ' )
Then... type c:
type POS

Woo hoo! You are up and running with DHPOS...

Now... Off to see if Networking is going to function..

marine64
Forum Regular
Posts:36
Joined:Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:07 pm
Location:Mountain home AFB, ID
Contact:

Re: dhpos and linux

Post by marine64 » Thu May 29, 2008 8:11 pm

it is actually easy to get networking going with dosbox. Install smbfs, smbclient with this command

Code: Select all

apt-get install smbfs smbclient
and run the mount command

Code: Select all

mount -t smbfs -o username=USERNAME,password=PASSWORD //hostnameorip/sharename /path/to/where/you/want/it/mounted/ 
and to setup the server to serve the global files run

Code: Select all

apt-get install samba
and edit the /etc/samba/smb.conf to suit your needs. The file is well documented inside but feel free to PM me with the path you want to share and I will walk you thru editing this file.
http://www.xenocomp.com for all your tech needs.

nnagreg
Posts:3
Joined:Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:52 pm

Re: dhpos and linux

Post by nnagreg » Sat May 31, 2008 11:35 am

Ok....

I've downloaded the client and server portions....

I'm shared out a folder on my windows machine for test.
MY address is 192.168.1.100
But, keep getting these errors.

I'm using from the terminal window as root:

mount -t smbfs -o username=daddy,password=xxxxxx //192.168.1.100/share
Error comes back stating it could not resolve mount point
//192.168.1.100/share

What am I doing wrong...

And how will dosbox see it? Won't I have to mount something in dosbox too?

Nick
Forum Regular
Posts:50
Joined:Sat Jan 03, 2004 8:57 pm
Location:St Cloud, MN

Re: dhpos and linux

Post by Nick » Mon Jun 09, 2008 12:09 am

I dont have pos itself networked but I was able to mount my xp box from my debian box with the help of a friend and this website http://www.debian-administration.org/articles/165 hope it helps, my understanding is you need to create your mount point first.

-Nick

Nick
Forum Regular
Posts:50
Joined:Sat Jan 03, 2004 8:57 pm
Location:St Cloud, MN

Re: dhpos and linux

Post by Nick » Mon Jun 09, 2008 12:45 am

It works, it works!

I got it to work over a network. The debian box crashed when the screen saver turned on, but it worked. Now I can call it a night.

-Nick

anwoke8204
Forum Regular
Posts:60
Joined:Thu Aug 04, 2005 10:10 pm
Location:Tooele, Ut
Contact:

Re: dhpos and linux

Post by anwoke8204 » Mon Jun 30, 2008 12:05 pm

Hi, I am running dhpos on fedora core 5 under dosemu, but it keeps on telling me that I have no read/write access when I try to run the program, any idea as to how I fix this? because of this it will not let me run the posconfig file or anything like that, many thanks
Andrew

Nick
Forum Regular
Posts:50
Joined:Sat Jan 03, 2004 8:57 pm
Location:St Cloud, MN

Re: dhpos and linux

Post by Nick » Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:51 pm

I'm by no means a linux expert but have you tried changing the owner of the file to the user your using to run dosmu and pos. Otherwise check that your user has full read write privliges to all the pos files and its folder.

anwoke8204
Forum Regular
Posts:60
Joined:Thu Aug 04, 2005 10:10 pm
Location:Tooele, Ut
Contact:

Re: dhpos and linux

Post by anwoke8204 » Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:33 pm

I have checked, and given read/write access to the POS group, and the user I am using for it is part of that group

marine64
Forum Regular
Posts:36
Joined:Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:07 pm
Location:Mountain home AFB, ID
Contact:

Re: dhpos and linux

Post by marine64 » Sun Jul 20, 2008 2:50 pm

can you verify that you have done a chmod -R 777 on all files in the directory? Sorry for my slow reply I am not getting the alerts when this is updated.
http://www.xenocomp.com for all your tech needs.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests