Newbie needs guidance

Make comments, ask questions, or just complain about the software on this site. Or comment on any educational software.
Please note that by clicking on links that may appear in these posts that you may be leaving the Dale Harris Educational Software website and that the content of those sites is the sole resposibility of the authors of those sites.

Moderators:daleadmin, Dale Harris, Alan, Andrew

kojaks43
Occasional Poster
Newbie needs guidance

Post by kojaks43 » Sat Aug 04, 2007 8:34 pm

As background, I am on the wrong side of 60, and have been unemployed for 3 years. I can take early social security, and maybe learn to like cat food. I have a friend that insists I open a restaurant. She has a friend that operates one of those Antique "Malls" and wants to have a Tea Room. My friend thinks it would be a marriage made in heaven. However, while I am a reasonably good cook, I have never run a restaurant. My background is in Advertising and Marketing. What I do least well is finding new business for advertising/marketing. Hence, I need something to do.

The "mall" is opened 7 days a week. From 10am to 3pm. Mall gets fair traffic during the day. There are 4-5 modest sized businesses within walking distance. No other restaurants except fast food.

I know I need a POS system. This one looks great. But I have 2 questions.
One is POS related and the other is restaurant related.

I ask the restaurant question here incorrectly, but I have been reading the posts and several users have a background in restaurants...so here is my question: Knowing what you know about operating restaurants, would you advise a novice to open one?

Here is the POS question: What is the difference between Category and Groups? I've read the Register.txt and just cannot get my head wrapped around the two concepts.

Your help will be gratefully appreciated.

Andrew
Site Administrator

Post by Andrew » Sat Aug 04, 2007 9:18 pm