Budget-tip: Poledisplay using Android device

Make comments, ask questions, or just complain about the software on this site. Or comment on any educational software.
Please note that by clicking on links that may appear in these posts that you may be leaving the Dale Harris Educational Software website and that the content of those sites is the sole resposibility of the authors of those sites.

Moderators:daleadmin, Dale Harris, Alan, Andrew

Johann
Occasional Poster
Budget-tip: Poledisplay using Android device

Post by Johann » Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:58 pm

Guide to using your Android device as Pole Display

Introduction:

Hello all,

I'm Johann from Indonesia (in a continent/timezone that this forum does not acknowledge?) an i'm new to DHPOS.
I run a small toko from my home together with my wife and as i'm writing this i am in the process of setting up a POS.
Instead of giving Dale headaches with my questions today i thought i'd try to contribute a little by sharing on this forum something neat i found and made working for my setup.

This is mostly a tip for those budget users like me who would like a secondary/pole display without shelling out the bucks for the extra hardware and have an extra Android phone/tablet laying around.

With the help of a Android phone or tablet you could easily set up your own custom wireless pole-display using freely available software.

Pros:
* Cheap and or free (depending you have an Android phone/tablet laying around)
* wireless, no strings attached. This setup works on your own private WiFi network
* Easy to setup

Cons:
* Uses additional software
* You might be upping the total system requirements of your POS setup (depending on your current setup, minimum Windows 7 is needed in setup described below)
* There is a slight delay on your secondary display (phone or tablet), however this is a minor issue when using it as your Pole-display
* Your POS computer and phone/tablet must be on the same network