Pertelian device as pole display

Make comments, ask questions, or just complain about the software on this site. Or comment on any educational software.
Please note that by clicking on links that may appear in these posts that you may be leaving the Dale Harris Educational Software website and that the content of those sites is the sole resposibility of the authors of those sites.

Moderators: daleadmin, Dale Harris, Alan, Andrew

User avatar
daleadmin
Forum Owner
Posts: 1277
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 9:47 pm

Pertelian device as pole display

Post by daleadmin » Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:09 pm

Folks,

Check out this unit http://pertelian.com/index.php

Think of it as a pole display.

It is fairly small but it makes up for it by displaying 4 lines instead of of 2. This means that the top two lines can display the current item being rung up and the bottom two lines can display the running total for the sale. It also costs about 1/3 the price of a regular pole display.

If the back of your POS monitor faces the the customer you can mount the Pertelian device on the back or top of the monitor. This would make it quite easy for your customers to read despite its small size.

I have contacted the fine folks at Pertelian about using their device as a pole display with DHPOS and they seem interested, which is good because they would have to write a driver to interface between their unit and DHPOS.

But the big question is what is your interest. Does this seem like a good idea to you and would you be interested it purchasing one or more of these devices for your store?

Don't be shy, post something.

Dale
Last edited by daleadmin on Wed Jan 24, 2007 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lemon535
Forum Regular
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:50 am

they look ok.

Post by lemon535 » Wed Dec 20, 2006 4:40 am

Depending on the store, i would personally like one of these placed on the counter where the customer places their money. if it could tilt upwards and be easy to read i think its a great idea and would definately look into purchasing a few. How much per unit do you know?

RollerBall
Forum Regular
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: South-East England

Post by RollerBall » Wed Dec 20, 2006 6:54 am

Interesting little device. It appears to hook into your browser and grab information from the Net in a way you've programmed it to do, so it seems to be quite an active, intelligent little device. It would be interesting to see if it could be made to interface with DHPOS which would be just as a passive, mini second screen.

As it stands it looks to sell out at about $48 which is not too expensive I'd say for a customer display

User avatar
Dukane
Forum Regular
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 11:00 am

Post by Dukane » Wed Dec 20, 2006 9:40 am

Interested.

User avatar
daleadmin
Forum Owner
Posts: 1277
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 9:47 pm

Pertelian device simulator

Post by daleadmin » Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:14 am

I have written a Pertelian device simulator. Here is the link http://www.dhpos.com/pole1.exe

Download to the same folder as the DHPOS program. Then run the POS.EXE program in one window and the new POLE1.EXE program in a separate window. As you ring up sales in the POS.EXE program the POLE1.EXE program will display the POLE.DAT data just as the Pertelian device would.

The top two lines will be the standard pole display data and the bottom two lines will be a running total of the net sale total, total tax, and total with tax.

Post your opinions

Dale

User avatar
ChrisKraus
Forum Regular
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 11:10 am
Location: Dedham, MA - U.S.A.

Post by ChrisKraus » Fri Dec 22, 2006 3:31 pm

We had this item mentioned before. It was listed at ThinkGeek.
- Chris
Christopher Kraus

lemon535
Forum Regular
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:50 am

.

Post by lemon535 » Fri Dec 22, 2006 7:03 pm

I dnt like it how it shows the without tax and tax. it looks confusing. maybe just one total price??

User avatar
daleadmin
Forum Owner
Posts: 1277
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 9:47 pm

Thinking

Post by daleadmin » Thu Jan 04, 2007 7:42 pm

I have been thinking on this.

The current way this works is the top two lines are the current item being rung up. The third line is the net total and tax total for the sale so far. The fourth line is the sale total so far.

Since there is no room, the 3 line is not labeled, only the values appear, like this...

<pre>
COLOR KEY ONE SIDED
5 X 2.49 = 12.45
11.42 1.03
TOTAL 12.45
</PRE>
.
Would it be a better idea to skip the net sale total and label the tax, like this...

<pre>
COLOR KEY ONE SIDED
5 X 2.49 = 12.45
TOTAL TAX 1.03
TOTAL 12.45
</PRE>
.
What do you think?

The Pertelian people are really jumping on this and their software is almost ready so I need some replies to this right away.
Last edited by daleadmin on Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

demo123
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:00 pm

Post by demo123 » Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:04 pm

skip the net sale
thanks

lemon535
Forum Regular
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:50 am

...

Post by lemon535 » Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:48 am

im keen depending on the availability in NEW ZEALAND.

I would be prepared to bundles these to machines i sell.

Thanks

User avatar
Andrew
Site Administrator
Posts: 822
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 3:40 pm
Location: New Zealand

Post by Andrew » Fri Jan 05, 2007 4:26 am

lemon535 - there's a list of retailers who carry the display towards the bottom of the homepage (http://www.pertelian.com/index.php). One of those is ThinkGeek, which I'm sure would ship internationally.
Image
DHPOS Veteran (from v3.46, July 2002)

lemon535
Forum Regular
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:50 am

...

Post by lemon535 » Fri Jan 05, 2007 9:03 pm

thanks andrew, will check it out

User avatar
Wes
Forum Regular
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 11:58 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Thinking

Post by Wes » Sat Jan 06, 2007 1:59 pm

skip net sales
-Wes :O)

User avatar
daleadmin
Forum Owner
Posts: 1277
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 9:47 pm

Progress

Post by daleadmin » Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:27 pm

There has been progress with the Pertelain display.

I now have one and the software to run it with DHPOS. It works!

Still needs some work to get the backlight to come on and some installation concerns.

Updates as events warrant.

BTW, the exact dimentions of the display panel are 3 inches wide by 1 inch tall. But is is easily readable from about 3 feet away.

Dale

IAN
Forum Regular
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:26 pm
Location: UK, Birmingham

Post by IAN » Fri Jan 12, 2007 10:08 pm

looks realy cool, but sadly not for use in dos :(
IAN

(Everything i say is a lie! so am i telling you the truth?)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests