Do you want to sell POS systems?

Make comments, ask questions, or just complain about the software on this site. Or comment on any educational software.
Please note that by clicking on links that may appear in these posts that you may be leaving the Dale Harris Educational Software website and that the content of those sites is the sole resposibility of the authors of those sites.

Moderators: daleadmin, Dale Harris, Alan, Andrew

Post Reply
User avatar
daleadmin
Forum Owner
Posts: 1263
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 9:47 pm

Do you want to sell POS systems?

Post by daleadmin » Mon Jan 01, 2007 1:33 am

Over the years many people have asked me if I would mind if they added their POS hardware to my software so that they would be able to sell complete POS systems.

My answer, "Sure, why not, as long as you do not sell the actual software."

Now I have decided that this concept deserves a more detailed answer and even some advice from me. So I have put this up on my site. http://keyhut.com/sell_pos.htm

Meanwhile do you have any experiences selling POS systems with DHPOS that you would like to share? Good news, tips, questions, ideas, horror stories. If so post them below.

If this topic generates enough posts I may make it its own forum.

User avatar
Powerbob
Occasional Poster
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:00 am
Location: Thailand

Re:Do you want to sell POS systems?

Post by Powerbob » Sat Feb 17, 2007 12:46 am

There is a definate market for this software and coupled with hardware is practically unbeatable in it's simplicity and ease of use. It's so resource minimal in this day and age of mega windows programs that require massive training programs.


Powerbob

PWEB
Occasional Poster
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 6:30 pm

Post by PWEB » Fri Apr 06, 2007 2:14 pm

Using free dos is there any way that it boots right into the DHPOS prog?
--
Mike

User avatar
daleadmin
Forum Owner
Posts: 1263
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 9:47 pm

autoexec.bat

Post by daleadmin » Fri Apr 06, 2007 6:39 pm

Do you have an AUTOEXEC.BAT file you can edit to launch DHPOS. That is how it is done from MS-DOS

EST
Forum Regular
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 9:32 am
Location: New York

Re: autoexec.bat

Post by EST » Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:04 am

daleadmin wrote:Do you have an AUTOEXEC.BAT file you can edit to launch DHPOS. That is how it is done from MS-DOS.


Could you please tell me how this is done. I would like to auto-boot my program, so I wouldn't have to start Windows everytime :!:

Nick
Forum Regular
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 8:57 pm
Location: St Cloud, MN

Post by Nick » Mon Nov 12, 2007 11:58 am

Your AUTOEXEC.BAT file is located right in your C: directory. You may have to unhide your system files to see it. Then right click it and goto edit. Inside notepad just add a line saying "CD (path to pos)" and another line saying "pos.exe". Obviously if you have a version of windows that is launched from AUTOEXEC.BAT you will have to remove the line calling windows to start.

For example

Code: Select all

CD c:\pos
pos.exe


You can also edit the file from dos by getting to the c: directory and typeing "edit AUTOEXEC.BAT"

EST
Forum Regular
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 9:32 am
Location: New York

Post by EST » Tue Nov 13, 2007 3:28 pm

Nick wrote:Your AUTOEXEC.BAT file is located right in your C: directory. You may have to unhide your system files to see it. Then right click it and goto edit. Inside notepad just add a line saying "CD (path to pos)" and another line saying "pos.exe". Obviously if you have a version of windows that is launched from AUTOEXEC.BAT you will have to remove the line calling windows to start.

For example

Code: Select all

CD c:\pos
pos.exe


You can also edit the file from dos by getting to the c: directory and typeing "edit AUTOEXEC.BAT"


THANK YOU!

Alan
POS Guru
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Do you want to sell POS systems?

Post by Alan » Wed Dec 24, 2008 4:36 pm

Its easier just to add this to autoexec.bat

C:\POS\POS.EXE

I don't know if its worth putting this line in CONFIG.SYS too (prob not necessary for newer PCs)

PATH=C:\POS

Regards,

Alan

Merry Christmas from Scotland!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests